I have been scouring Craigslist for an old, metal bed for months.  I didn’t want to pay a lot for it, but I needed a sturdy bed that wouldn’t shake or squeak.  Also, it needed to be full size to fit our existing mattress.   Also, not too feminine because it is for my son’s room.  Preferably with clean lines.  It’s a long list, I know.  Well, after digging through metal bed posts on Craigslist, I was rewarded for my perseverance. Best part? It was $50.  I immediately saw the Restoration Hardware bed in my mind that was $1000 and thought this bed could be just as beautiful with a little makeover.

IMG_0679

What you can’t see very well is the condition of the brass–it is in really bad shape.  Spray paint will do wonders.

The moral of the story is that if you have big dreams that cost a lot of money-($1000), be patient and search Craigslist. You will eventually find your diamond in the rough. Hopefully, for $50- or less! Tell me your best Craigslist find.
samsbed-008

One thought on “Bed Makeover

Leave a Reply

