At the beginning of the summer, I questioned how I would entertain my four children for three months.  I worried that I would hear, “I’m bored!” way too many times for me to keep my sanity.  I love my children, I enjoy spending time with them, but I was nervous about keeping them active and happy for An Entire Summer.  I figured out pretty quickly (after the first day) that I needed a daily plan.  Tuesdays became Movie Day, Friday became Field Trip Friday, Monday and Thursdays we went to the gym so I could work out while the kids played at the child watch.  And every afternoon we swam at the pool.  Every day, unless it rained.  We went places and saw things.  We discovered the Overseas market with Pocky Sticks and Happy Pandas, which are delicious–and watched the Tilapia tank.  We drove all over the Charlotte area on our adventures.  We went to parks and played.  We watched good kid movies and I Deserve an Award for Watching That movies.

image

There were a few moments of boredom according to my kids, but for the most part, we had fun.  A lot of fun.  The first week of school is coming to an end and we have so many more weeks left in the school year.  I’m starting to let go of my back-to-school jitters (I get them worse than my kids do), and I’m starting to relax and enjoy time with my littlest little person.  But, I still miss my kids.  I wonder if their teacher has found out yet that Sam is really funny, that Julia is a great helper, and that Henry can count to 100 by tens.  Are their classmates being nice to them?  Are they making new friends? So many worries and so little time, I can’t help but sweat the small stuff.  It’s just how I’m made.  But, even with my worries, I know that I’m confident that my children know that I love them and understand them.  At home, they are special.  It’s all that I can control, so I try to love them well when they are with me.

Because in the morning, back to school they go. sniff.

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

